Outlook 2010 Advanced – Lesson 13 – Recalling a Message

You might send an e-mail message and then decide you want it back. You can recall a message any time before the recipient opens it, even if it has been delivered. There is, however, a time lag between when you recall a message and when it is successfully recalled. You recall a message using the Recall This Message dialog box, shown in Figure 213. You access this dialog box from the message’s Actions menu.

Figure 213: The Recall This Message Dialog Box

When you choose the Delete unread copies of this message option button, the message stays in your Sent Items folder but contains an information area that says, You attempted to recall this message on [date and time of attempt]. When you choose the Delete unread copies and replace with a new message option button, the message contains an information area that says, This message has not been sent. Once the recall is successful, you receive a message in your Inbox that informs you that your message was recalled.

When you recall a message that has been delivered, the recipient might see the original message in his or her Inbox and a second message that says the sender attempted to recall the message. If the recipient cooperates and does not open the message, both messages disappear from the Inbox shortly thereafter.

To recall a message:

1. Click the sent message folder and open the message you want to recall

2. On the message tab in the Action tab click other Actions

3. Choose Recall this Message

4. Choose Delete unread copies of this message

5. Choose OK.

In the following exercise, you will send and then recall a message.

1. Send the Mardi Gras Plans message to your e-mail partner
2. Ignore the Mardi Gras Plans message you receive from your partner
3. From your Sent Items folder message list, open the Mardi Gras Plans message
4. From the Action tab, choose Recall This Message. The Recall This Message dialog box appears.
5. Select the Delete unread copies and replace with a new message option button
6. Make sure the Tell me if recall succeeds or fails for each recipient check box is selected
7. Choose OK The message is recalled and is open. An information area that says This message has not been sent appears below the tabs.
8. Close the message

Leave a Reply